Workshop Research-led Performance| Composer – Instrument – Performer Violoncello Solo in the Second Half of the 20th Century

Isola di San Giorgio Maggiore, Venezia
plus Dec, 0306 2024
This workshop is part of the Research-led Performance series, one of the most popular and esteemed activities at the Institute for Music since its inaugural edition in 2016. Our guest lecturer for 2024 is Lucas Fels, cellist of the Arditti String Quartet and professor at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts. A masterful musician, Fels combines his expertise with a keen interest in philological aspects and theoretical reflection. The workshop will focus on works for solo cello by Italian composers, with particular attention to the collections preserved at the Institute for Music. The following compositions will be studied:
• Luigi Dallapiccola, Ciaccona, Intermezzo e Adagio (1945);
• Renato de Grandis, Serenata seconda (1970);
• Giacomo Manzoni, Freedom (2001);
• Ernesto Rubin de Cervin, Omaggi (2002).
The workshop is aimed at young cellists with a strong ability to understand and interpret research and experimental music. The program includes both practical and theoretical sessions, as well as a final concert featuring performances by a select group of workshop participants. The practical sessions will be led by Lucas Fels, while the theoretical sessions, open to the public, will be given by musicologists Gianmario Borio (Director of the Institute of Music and Professor at the University of Pavia), Francisco Rocca (scientific collaborator at the Institute of Music) and Francesca Scigliuzzo (doctoral student at the University of Udine).
Call for applications for 8 cellists with scholarships
Application deadline: 25 October 2024