Conclusive Concert of the Early Music Seminars 2017

Island of San Giorgio Maggiore, Venice
plus FEB, 10 2017

Maestros Napolitanos. Francesco Durante – José de Nebra. Neapolitan Music in Baroque Spain. 1730-1760

Venice, Giorgio Cini Foundation, 7-10 February 2017

Francesco Durante’s celebrity as a composer and music teacher spread over continents and lasted for centuries. Among his pupil were Pergolesi and Paisiello — who influenced the musical aesthetics of the whole of Europe — and his solfeggi and partimenti, still owed by Vincenzo Bellini, were copied and reworked in the Western Indias, in Mexico and Brazil.

The seminar will explore the dissemination of Durante’s school and style in Spain, comparing some of his chamber-music works — Duetti da camera and Concerti a quartetto — with those by José de Nebra, a fervid supporter of the Neapolitan school in Madrid and himself a follower of Pergolesi.

Two vocal soloists (a soprano and an alto) and a string quartet will be accompanied by a thoroughbass, coached and directed by Eduardo López Banzo and assisted by the musicologist Dinko Fabris.

 This year’s Early Music Seminar, directed by Pedro Memelsdorff, is entitled Maestros Napolitanos. Francesco Durante – José de Nebra. Neapolitan Music in Baroque Spain. 1730-1760. Organised by the Fondazione Giorgio Cini in collaboration with and supported by the Fondation Concordance, Basel (Switzerland), the Seminar will end with a concert at 6 pm on 10 February 2017 in the new auditorium of the Fondazione Cini. The programme will feature music from the repertoires analysed during the seminar, to be held from 7 to 10 February. The concert is open to the public with free admission while seats last. The masterclasses are also open to the public but registration is required by applying by email to the seminar secretary’s office:

Music by Francesco Durante and José de Nebra

Eduardo Lopez Banzo (conductor)

David De Jesus Torres Rodriguez (violin)

Hyunkun Cho (cello)

Alaia Ferran (viola)
Ignacio Ramal Viejo (violin)

Dalma Krajnyák ​ (mezzo soprano)​

Alicia Amo (soprano)

Nicola Lamon (harpsichord)

Free admission while seats last