Conference New Concepts of Harmony in Musical Composition 1945-1975

Island of San Giorgio Maggiore
plus Jul, 1213 2022

The last stage of a three-year project, this conference has been organised by Gianmario Borio, Pascal Decroupet and Christoph Neidhöfer and funded by the Ernst von Siemens-Musikstiftung. The focus will be on a key issue in 20th-century music theory: the principles and characteristics of the harmonic dimension in post-tonal composition. This part of the project explores the compositional techniques and theoretical elaborations of the three decades after the Second World War. It follows on from an initial meeting of the research group in 2019, the starting point for a panel held by the coordinators and some members of the group at the 85th Annual Meeting of the American Musicological Society (2019).

The monographic conference papers will deal with Luciano Berio, Pierre Boulez, John Cage, Elliott Carter, Brian Ferneyhough, Gérard Grisey, György Ligeti, Bruno Maderna, Olivier Messiaen, Luigi Nono, Henri Pousseur and Bernd Alois Zimmermann.

Participants: Jonathan Bernard, David W. Bernstein, Paolo Dal Molin, Pascal Decroupet, François-Xavier Féron, Oliver Korte, Catherine Losada, Christopher Brent Murray, Christoph Neidhöfer, Susanna Pasticci, Cordula Pätzold and Ingrid Pustijanac.


On the occasion of the conference, on 12 July at 7:00 PM, there will be a concert in the Auditorium ‘Lo Squero’ (free admission) by the mdi Ensemble composed of:

Sonia Formenti flute

Paolo Casiraghi clarinet

Lorenzo Derinni violin

Paolo Fumagalli viola

Giorgio Casati cello

Valentina Messa piano


The Ensemble will play:

Niccolò Castiglioni Gymel (1960), per flauto e pianoforte

Elliott Carter Esprit rude/esprit doux (1985), per flauto e clarinetto

Luigi Nono “Hay que caminar” soñando (1989), per due violini

Giacomo Manzoni Frase (1988), per clarinetto e pianoforte

Bernd Alois Zimmermann Intercomunicazione (1967), per violoncello e pianoforte

Pierre Boulez Improvisé – Pour le Dr. Kalmus (1969), per flauto, clarinetto, viola, violoncello e pianoforte